top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Sparks and Shadow by Ceara Nobles | Blog Tour & Review



Title: Sparks and Shadow

Author: Ceara Nobles

Series: Rising Elements #1

Genre: YA Fantasy

Pages: 253

Release Date: 4 March 2022



Hello fellow booklovers and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Ceara Nobles new YA portal fantasy, Sparks and Shadow.


I just quickly want to say a huge thank you to Anne Cater from Random Things Tours for inviting me on this tour and for providing me with an e-arc.



Synopsis

Seattle is full of monsters, and I’m the only one who can see them.

I’ve spent the last 17 years (AKA my whole life) pretending I can’t see the monsters who disguise themselves as humans. I may not have a place to live and my best friend may be moments away from getting in too deep with the city’s most dangerous drug lord, but I’m rolling with the status quo.


That is, until I save my arch enemy’s stupid life and find myself in a warehouse full of monsters.


Next thing I know, I’m in Monster Land (AKA not Seattle) and up to my ears in monsters, magic, and inevitable mayhem. If I want to get home, I have to join a band of revolutionaries and stay alive long enough to get back through the portal before war breaks out.


This’ll be a cinch. Sparks and Shadow is a modern, action-packed YA portal fantasy featuring Fae mythology, magic, and slow-burn romance. This is the first book in the Rising Elements series.


Review

The first instalment in The Rising Elements series is a fast paced and action packed portal fantasy romance, with Monsters, magic and a slow-burn romance featuring a street savvy human and gorgeous Fae lords.


I’m absolutely obsessed with any and all books related to the fae (especially when romance is involved) so naturally I jumped at the opportunity to read this and I have to say, I enjoyed it.


I’m not too familiar with the human portaled to a fantasy world trope (I’ve only read a couple) but it’s really interesting and the Portal scene itself was actually rather entertaining if a little chaotic.


I really loved Everly who has definitely gone through alot in her life and her talent for seeing the Fae (and Fae related creatures) has clearly only caused more hardship which I deeply empathised with. Despite the hardships and distrust she harbours we still get to see her compassionate side when she makes the decision to help save her nemesis (and rival courier, Peter) from impending doom— trust me, that’s a big deal given how annoyingly awful and he is to her. It’s also prevalent through all of her interactions with best friend, Mary Beth.


The cast of compelling characters is quite large but Kiera, human obsessed Mina (who was an absolute sweet heart) , Gideon,Aki and Everly’s love interest, Shadow were probably my faves.


The ending was satisfyingly action packed and I’d definitely recommend to fans of fantasy or portal related romances.


Also a massive thank you to Random Things Tours and Ceara Nobles for the e-arc.

Rating: 3.75 stars

About The Author



Ceara Nobles is a Utah-based author of romantic suspense and fantasy novels. She graduated from the University of Utah in 2016 with a B.A. in Computer Animation, then realized she hated it. Now she spends her days juggling her side hustle as a line editor and her true love of authorship. When she’s not busy writing, you can find her chasing her toddler, road tripping with her hubby, or hiding in bed with a chai and a good book.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page