top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Monthly Book Roundup: February 2022


Hello booklovers, I’m back with another monthly reading roundup. February was another fantastic month of reading with an absolute smorgasbord of anticipated books and arcs for upcoming releases that I’m super excited about—in fact, the featured books are actually three of my most anticipated books of the year!

Amazingly, this February I managed to read an incredible 15 books, which is one more than I managed in January! Amounting to 5,678 pages, 5 five star reviews and an average rating of 4.42 which I’m actually pretty pleased with.

Featured Book of The Month:


My Most Anticipated release of February and one of my top three books of the month was Sarah J. Maas‘ incredible second instalment in her Adult Fantasy series, Crescent City. Honestly words still cannot do justice to the rollercoaster of emotions I felt whilst reading this masterpiece and as usual;the level of detail within the worldbuilding, magic system and the vast cast of compelling chracters was absolutely stunning!


Maas’ signature brand of plot twists definitely lived up to all my expectations, and in some Instances even surpassed them. I loved THAT ending which was utterly spectacular and, despite the stiff competition this month,Maas has managed to retain her crown as the Queen of Plot Twists for another year (or for a least another month.)


5 Star Spotlight:



Speaking of stiff competiton, Deborah Falaye‘s beautifully expansive and utterly breathtaking YA fantasy debut very nearly toppled The reigning Queen of Plot Twists with that exquisite ending!


It follows fifteen year old, Sloane—a girl with forbidden powers who plots to overthrow the brutal regime that has oppressed her people for centuries. Trust me, the high stakes action of this phenomenonal YA fantasy it an absolute must read of 2022 So get preordering now.

Out 8 March (US), 31 March (UK)


Honourable Mentions:




An immersive and action-packed intergalactic adventure about two people, a noble lord, Felix and Commoner, Joy who are mindlink from birth and find themselves crashlanding on the Alien planet, Earth after Felix is framed for the murder of his planet’s royalty—who just so happen to be his distant relatives.

This was an amazing read, I loved the character development, the lush descriptions, the concept of sharing thoughts and the incredibly diverse & LGBTQ+ rep.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️




A fun Peter Pan reimagining, centring on Tinkerbell and Captain Hook was action-packed and utterly swoon worthy with an enemies to lovers romance that I absolutely loved. The romantic tension and chemistry between Hook and Tink was marvellous and the ending super satisfying.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️




This was a deliciously cerebral dark academia with a complex, character driven story that I absolutely enjoyed. The cast of morally grey characters we’re utterly fascinating and I couldn’t help but revel in the personalities,insecurities and backstories that Olivie Blake has crafted. Honestly, the Machiavell-like scheming was even more addictive than most reality shows.

I do warn that it‘s a book you need to keep your concentration with,otherwise (given how intricate & complex the plot can get) you’ll end up a little confused. The payoff though is definitely worth it!

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫



An absolutely enchanting debut, filled with magic, drama and teenage angst that I couldn’t get enough of. Plot-wise it’s very mean girls meets The Craft but with a super intriguing mystery, moonlit rituals and a magical library I’d do just about anything to visit. I’d definitely recommend to fans of Alix E. Harrow And witchy contemporary fantasy. Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫



A really quick and enjoyable read. The enemies to lovers aspect was a little mild compared to others I’ve read (more rivals than full on enemies) but the fake dating aspect, the chemistry and the slow-burn build up between both MCs was really good.


overall, a pretty solid and rather addictive romance that enemies to lovers, fake dating and only one bed fans will probably enjoy


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫



Captivatingly haunting and visually atmospheric, Allison Saft’s A Far Wilder Magic is a beautifully immersive and evocative exploration of acceptance & loneliness with a spellbindingly sweet, slow burn romance between Margaret and Wes that I absolutely adored.


I’d definitely recommend to fans of Margaret Rogerson’s Sorcery of Thorns though I should warn it does have a fair bit of blood, gore and depictions of animal death.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This was an absolutely phenomenal (and moving) story set in Western Australia with an absolutely endearing protagonist (Eliza) searching for answers after her father (the town’s most prolific pearl catcher) disappears.

It’s fast paced and intricately detailed; expertly combining tension, mystery, gorgeously lush prose and well crafted characters to create a sweepingly feminist adventure that historical fiction lovers and fans of Elizabeth Macneal or Stacey Halls are going to love


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫


There’s soo many phenomenal books planned for release in March that I’m super excited to read and I’ve already read a few amazing books that l’m already super excited to share with you all.

But tell me, which books did you love reading in February? Have you read any of these? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page