top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Mini Review Monday

Bridgerton season 2 has been out for well over a month, so I thought I’d share with you a couple mini reviews for some incredible, regency romances I’ve really enjoyed In recent weeks that are certain to tide you over until season 3.


I also wanted to say a huge thank you to HarperCollins UK, Headline and Unicorn Publishing Group for the e-arc and review copies, all thoughts and opinions are my own.



A Lady’s Guide To Fortune Hunting by Sophie Irwin is a phenomenal, regency-era romance debut that I’ve been anticipating for months so getting to read and e-arc of this had me super excited- and I have to say, it definitely lived up to my expectations.

I found it a genuinely fun and lighthearted read with deliciously addictive scandals and a feisty take charge heroine (Kitty) who I absolutely loved. She’s smart, pragmatic and rather mercenary in her goal to bag herself a rich husband, and it’s been really refreshing among the dozens of Regency romances that have cropped up in the wake of Bridgerton’s success.

Kitty’s honest and upfront about her scheming and I really enjoyed watching her navigate the social etiquette of the upper classes, and the faux passhe makes along the way was both entertaining and fairly period accurate. I was also swept up in vivid imagery of the Balls, intimate dinner parties, strolls through Hyde Park, not to mention the idle speculation and DRAMA that Kitty accidentally stumbles upon (especially involving members of the Ton.)


I'm not gonna lie, the conversational back and forths between Kitty and her love interest/ sabotaging nemesis, James (aka Lord Radcliffe) were scorchingly good. And though the relationship between these two is a slow-burn one (and doesn’t really have any steamy scenes) , it’s still definitely worth a read. — 5 stars



Before picking this next book up I’d never actually read any of Martha Waters’ Previous books, but after finishing her newest release, To Marry and To Meddle I’ll definitely be picking up books one and two in this series (though it does also work as a standalone.)


It was a charming and utterly fun regency romance that I absolutely adored. The marriage of convenience plot was perfectly executed and the romance was definitely swoon worthy!


I also loved how much Emily flourishes into a strong, independent young woman away from her family’s strict rules, and her blossoming relationship with Julian was soo good. It was honesty really enjoyable to watch them both slowly get to know one another and ultimately fall in love, I highly recommend— 4 stars




The Belles of Waterloo is a wonderfully engaging debut that perfectly captures the grandeur, decadence and excitement of the era in this vividly descriptive regency romance inspired by true events.


I really enjoyed getting to know the spirited Capel family who, despite being a real and very prominent family, lived a life just as dramatic as any of the fictionalised families we’ve come to know and love (i.e.The Crawleys or Bridgertons.)

I enjoyed the level of historical accuracy that we get to experience as, unlike most writers Alice Church manages to keep to the facts without the plot becoming too convoluted or dull. It was also intriguing to learn what life was actually like during this tempestuous period, especially for those who bore witness to such an infamous war (Waterloo did inspire an ABBA song,after all.)



As any true romance lover will attest, the chemistry between the couples is crucial for any successful romance and though I did enjoy that aspect, I did feel that the romance for certain characters (Harriet & Georgy) was a little muted,with no real development in their relationships. However, I do think Lady Caroline’s relationship with her husband (the ups and downs) as well as Maria’s romantic endeavours were well explored.


I did really like that as the characters are based on people who actually lived, it was very easy to find out what happened to them long after the battle (and the novel) ended via Church’s incredibly detailed afterword, which I very much appreciated.


Overall, a compelling Regency romance that history buffs and Bridgerton lovers alike are certain to enjoy. — 4 Stars




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page