top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray Review


Magically intoxicating and rich in detail, Ayana Gray’s exquisitely crafted, YA Fantasy is utterly breathtaking—I simply cannot believe this thrilling and emotionally poignant masterpiece is only her debut!


It follows Koffi, an indentured servant and Ekon, a fallen warrior who join forces to hunt down a dangerously deadly monster that’s been terrorising their city.


But the Greater Jungle is full of more than just monsters, for it’s steeped in wild magic and untold dangers. As the Hunt begins, it quickly becomes unclear whether they are the hunters…or the hunted.


Inspired by Pan African mythology this heartfelt and vividly immersive fantasy was sheer perfection and I loved every second of it.


The world building was incredibly detailed, I especially loved the lore surrounding the creatures in the Night Zoo (where Koffi and her mother are indentured) which was really fascinating. Gray’s beautifully lyrical prose was a veritable feast for the senses and really brought the world of Eshōza to life.


It starts off a little slow but the pace definitely picks up quite quickly after Koffi’s run in with Ekon, that’s when I got truly hooked.


The narrative follows two separate timelines-the first is set in the past (when the world was full of magic) and the second is almost a century later, after the Rupture (a magical earthquake which caused the decline of magic.)


I was a bit confused at first as I didn’t realise there were two timelines but once I did, I thoroughly enjoyed it. We also get three POVs: Koffi and Ekon’s from the ‘present’ and Adiah’s from the past (which becomes pretty crucial later in the book.)


The characters were also well crafted and I enjoyed how detailed all three main characters’ backstories were, especially Koffi and Ekon who were my absolute favourites (I was soo emotionally invested in them.)


This is definitely a must read that I recommend to all YA Fantasy lovers—Netflix is also developing a movie adaptation so what are you waiting for, get a copy ASAP!


Thanks to Penguin UK and Netgalley for the e-arc.

Beasts of Prey Kindle edition is out now and the paperback is released on 3 March 2022. (UK)

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page