top of page
Writer's pictureNatasha

The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh Review

Updated: Dec 2, 2021


The incredibly enthralling and hotly anticipated third book of Renée Ahdieh’s utterly decadent historical YA Fantasy series is just so addictive. I was hooked from the very first page and literally couldn’t put it down.


Odette is on her deathbed and The Court of the Lions have done everything they can. Now, only a healer from the Sylvan Vale can save her and Arjun Desai (a half fey) is the only one able to cross the boundary between realms. He despises his former home, but knowing it’s the only way to save Odette leads him to return and leaving a mirrored tare open between worlds.


It’s only days until Pippa Montrose is to wed Phoebus Devereux, becoming a member of his well respected family and offering her the salvation she desires. But Celine is missing, Pippa is certain she’s with Bastien Saint Germain and believes Arjun can lead her to them.


With the help of Eloise (daughter of a powerful sorceress) Pippa discovers the gateway and slips through in search of her friend. But what she finds is a world of danger,duplicity and magic she doesn’t quite understand.


This was soo incredibly spellbinding, I loved every single second of it! Unlike the previous books, The Righteous focuses more on some of the supporting characters like Pippa, Eloise and Arjun and I really enjoyed reading from their POVs.


All the characters were well written but I absolutely loved Pippa and Arjun, the swoon-worthy chemistry between them was simply incredible (I’ve actually been waiting for them to spend more time together since first meeting in The Beautiful.) I’m surprised to be saying this but they’ve surpassed my Bastien and Celine as my favourite couple, which I never thought possible.


I’m also pleased to report the world building is even more deliciously detailed than in the previous books. We get to explore the Sylvan Vale (and it’s inhabitants) like never before, which was truly fascinating and definitely added more depth both to the world and to the characters who reside in it.


There’s not much else I can say without spoiling the entire plot but I definitely recommend to fans of Paranormal or YA Fantasy—trust me you’re going to love this series!


Thanks to Hodder&Stoughton and Netgalley for the e-arc.


Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


The Righteous is released 7 December



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page