top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

The Darkening by Sunya Mara Review



Title: The Darkening

Author: Sunya Mara

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Pages: 400

Release Date: 5 July 2022


Hello fellow book lovers, today I’m sharing my review for The deliciously gripping dark YA fantasy debut, The Darkening by Sunya Mara.

I also wanted to say a huge thank you to Hodder & Stoughton and Netgalley for the e-arc.



Synopsis

Vesper Vale is the daughter of revolutionaries. Failed revolutionaries. When her mother was caught by the queen's soldiers, they gave her a choice: death by the hangman's axe, or death by the Storm that surrounds the city and curses anyone it touches. She chose the Storm. And when the queen's soldiers--led by a paranoid prince--catch up to Vesper's father after twelve years on the run, Vesper will do whatever it takes to save him from sharing that fate.


Even arm herself with her father's book of dangerous experimental magic.


Even infiltrate the prince's elite squad of soldier-sorcerers.


Even cheat her way into his cold heart.


But when Vesper learns that there's more to the story of her mother's death, she'll have to make a choice if she wants to save her city: trust the devious prince with her family's secrets, or follow her mother's footsteps into the Storm.


Review

It’s an action packed feast for the senses with a richly woven world full of magic curses, political intrigue and morally grey characters which I found rather endearing.


I really enjoyed this and found myself completely immersed in Sunya Mara’s lush prose and atmospheric story telling.I absolutely loved our fearless and persistent protagonist Vesper and her being the daughter of two failed revolutionaries, on the run was such an intriguing premise that we don’t encounter often and I really enjoyed exploring the aftermath and consequences of their failed plot.


Vesper’s entire life is shaped by her parents actions and it’s interesting to see just how much life on the run/ being the daughter of a wanted man has affected her. Her attempts—to save her father and the city do keep backfiring on her, but I found her determination and resiliency in those instances super relatable. Trust me, Vesper’s a very easy character to root for.


I loved the supporting cast as well, especially Iz who definitely has a rogueish charm. surprisingly I also really liked Casvian to I initially disliked but he grew on me in the second half of the book. I did also like Prince Dalca and the slow burn, enemies to lovers romance that blossoms between him and Vesper was really well done. Though, I have to admit, I was sorta rooting for Vesper and Iz.


The ending was unbelievably action packed, I’m talking plans out of the window/ everything goes wrong and I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it!


The fact that this is a debut is amazing given how well each plot and subplot is seamlessly woven together—I cannot wait to see where Mara takes us with the sequel because that (cliffhanger) ending was soo good!


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5



About The Author

Sunya Mara grew up in six different cities across five different states and now calls Los Angeles home. She studied film and business at the University of Southern California and went on to write and illustrate at Kobe Bryant’s Granity Studios. When not telling stories, she spends her time haunting old movie theaters and staring at museum walls



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page