top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo Review


Dark, gritty and superbly weird, Leigh Bardugo’s incredible adult debut was the perfect book to read this spooky season


The most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class, Galaxy ‘Alex’ Stern (a dropout and sole survivor of a horrific unsolved crime) is hoping for a fresh start.


But this free ride comes with a catch. She has been tasked with monitoring the university’s secret societies—notorious haunts of the rich and powerful.


Now there’s a dead girl on campus and Alex is the only lot one trying to catch her killer. Because the societies are far more sinister and extraordinary than anyone ever imagined.


They tamper with forbidden magic.

They raise the dead.

And sometimes they prey on the living.


I absolutely loved it! There’s a gritty realism to the world building which pairs perfectly with the secret societies and the ominously foreboding sensations they (and their occult practices) inspire, honestly I love Bardugo’s other books but for me, the writing of Ninth House surpasses them all!


I’m completely flabbergasted that the Secret Societies actually exist (though without the occult practices I’m sure), I first encountered mention of Yale having them in Gilmore Girls and had no idea they weren’t just a clever plot point!


I absolutely adored Alex who’s experiences were probably one of the saddest and most horrific I’ve ever read, though the development of her character arc was absolutely incredible.


I also really loved Darlington (what little chapters we got from him) I just wanted to see more of his friendship with Alex. Dawes was also a really great character though again I’d have liked to have seen more of her, hopefully she’ll be more present in the sequel. But my all time fave supporting character of this entire book has to be Alex’s spectral acquaintance, North (aka The Bridegroom.)


Overall, an intoxicatingly rich and discerningly detailed exploration of power and privilege that I thoroughly recommend. Though given the dark subject material it’s definitely not for the faint of heart.


(TW: heavy alcohol and drug usage,rape, a flashback scene involving a child (main character) being molested, violence and physical abuse.)

Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5

47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page