top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

Monthly Book Roundup: March 2022



Hello fellow book lovers today I’m back with a roundup of my March reading roundup and it’s been my most productive reading month yet, with a remarkable 17 books—two more than last month!


Amounting to 6,062 pages, 4 five star reads and an average rating of 4.32, which I'm super happy with.


Featured Book of The Month:



One of my most anticipated books of the month, Gallant was packed full of gorgeous prose, atmospheric imagery and a phenomenally compelling protagonist; V.E Schwab has once again stolen my heart with this gloriously enchanting gothic-esque YA fantasy that I found utterly unputdownable.


The book also incorporates some stunning illustrations into the narrative that I found fascinatingly beautiful (I enjoyed deciphering each image which kinda reminded me a little of those Rorschach ink blot tests.)


Overall an addictively enchanting read that will definitely appeal to adult, YA and MG fantasy lovers alike.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


5 Star Spotlight:


This was an exquisitely crafted and utterly atmospheric, gothic style Horror that I literally couldn’t put down. The vividly rich descriptions were the unbelievably uncanny and High Place—home to the reclusive Doyle family set me on edge almost immediately—especially the strange practice of dining in complete silence which I found utterly unnerving.


The Imagery also gets pretty dark and rather grotesque at times (if you’re even remotely squeamish it might be best to steer clear) but, you’ll definitely be on the edge of your seat, particularly for the second half of the book where the action really ramps up.


I’d definitely recommend to gothic horror aficionados or anyone who loves atmospheric and suspenseful books.

Honourable Mentions:



An action packed sci-fi fantasy that blends magic and technology in this incredibly gritty and vegeance filled debut that I didn’t want to put down.

I’ll be sharing my full review in April for my stop on the Random Things Book tour but, this dangerously thrilling start to the Blood Gift Duology isn’t one to be missed! So, if you like your books full of magic, political intrigue and shockingly juicy plot twists then you should definerely check this out.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5




This was a wonderfully refreshing and wickedly humorous regency rom-com that I absolutely loved, it’s filled of deliciously entertaining scandals and a feisty take charge protagonist that I really liked. Kitty (our protagonis) and James (Kitty’s love interest) do start out very enemies to lovers with James trying to keep the fortune hunting Kitty away from his younger (and more impressionable brother.)


I loved their slow-burn chemistry and banter even though their attraction doesn’t stsrt to take off until two thirds of the way through—but its definitely worth the wait given how satisfying I found the conclusion.


Overall, this is a fun and genuinely uplifting novel that Bridgerton fans are bound to enjoy.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5



I don’t often venture into Sci-fi fiction as I usually don’t find it enjoyable, filled with convoluted plot lines or characters I just don’t find enjoyable but Hunt The Stars may have just converted me into a fan. This Sci-fi / Space Opera enemies to lovers romance, with its action, romance and endearing cast of characters (who are all badasses btw) was incredible.

Not to mention Luna-the ship’s cute, telepathic pet/ mascot (she’s described as looking like a cross between an arctic fox, a cat and a ferret) and I absolutely loved her.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5




A stunning debut that I devoured at a record pace and the dazzlingly immersive world building was stunning—I loved the lush descriptions and complex character development we see in Khadija, Jacob, Anam and Darian.

Overall, a beautifully written YA fantasy that seamlessly weaves social commentary, islamic folklore and gorgeous imagery into a thought provoking and spellbindingly riveting tale, that fans of Majorie Blackman or Hafsah Faisal are bound to enjoy


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5




A gloriously witchy, Great Gatsby meets Practical Magic gothic sapphic fantasy, that blends the glamour and decadence of the Jazz age with haunting prose to create a dark and atmospherically immersive tale of secrets, scandals, blood magic and romance that’s utterly unputdownable!


The characters are all complex and full of depth, I loved pretty much all of them including Bea (the protagonist‘s bestie) who I initially wrote off as just a selfish social climber. It‘s definitely a must read for witchy YA fantasy fans.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5



This was another beautifully written debut that I found deeply emotional. The rich and detailed history surrounding life in China during and after WW2 was really interesting and the experiences the fictional Dao family face being inspired by real people (including the author’s own family) was definitely eye opening.


I also loved the way in which Chinese fables manage to subtly connect all three generations of The Dao family and felt (for Meilin and Renshu especially) like the one constant they had throughout the uncertainty and turbulence of their lives.


Overall, a richly detailed, emotionally immersive and timely tale of resilience and the immigrant experience that I literally haven’t been able to stop thinking about since finishing. A definite must read for historical fiction lovers.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5


I’d love to know which books you loved reading in March? Have you read any of these or are planning to? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page