top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha

A Magic Steeped In Poison | Blog Tour & Review



Title: A Magic Steeped In Poison

Author: Judy I. Lin

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 384

Release Date: 29 March 2022




Hello fellow booklovers,

welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours blog tour for A Magic Steeped In Poison. Inspired by Chinese mythology and infused with lyrical prose, Judy I. Lin’s page-turning fantasy debut is a veritable feast for the senses.


Trust me, if the gorgeously descriptive vistas and food references don’t have you completely spellbound (or salivating), then the charmingly original magic system and compelling cast of characters will.


I also just wanted to say a huge thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and Feiwel & Friends for the e-arc.

You can also find the rest of the Tour Schedule down below.



Synopsis

Judy I. Lin’s sweeping debut A Magic Steeped in Poison, first in a duology, is sure to enchant fans of Adrienne Young and Leigh Bardugo.


I used to look at my hands with pride. Now all I can think is, “These are the hands that buried my mother.”


For Ning, the only thing worse than losing her mother is knowing that it’s her own fault. She was the one who unknowingly brewed the poison tea that killed her—the poison tea that now threatens to also take her sister, Shu.


When Ning hears of a competition to find the kingdom’s greatest shennong-shi—masters of the ancient and magical art of tea-making—she travels to the imperial city to compete. The winner will receive a favor from the princess, which may be Ning’s only chance to save her sister’s life.


But between the backstabbing competitors, bloody court politics, and a mysterious (and handsome) boy with a shocking secret, Ning might actually be the one in more danger.


Review


I absolutely loved this! The world building is utterly breathtaking thanks to Lin’s skillfully lush and vividly detailed prose, which I found both immersive and addictive (honesty I didn’t want to put it down.)


I adored Ning, who’s a strong and intelligent young woman willing to do whatever it takes to protect her family which I loved. I was also really invested in the slow-burn, chemistry between Ning and the mysterious boy (his identity is revealed and it’s good.) The longing looks and tension filled scenes were great but, I feel the pacing was a little too slow to really enjoy it fully.


In fact, all the characters are beautifully complex and multilayered, it definitely played out really well with the political intrigue and backstabbing arc which I found really entertaining (I was on the edge of my seat.)


I have to admit, I did find myself trying to guess the identity of the poisoner and was suspicious of virtually everyone but, I have to admit the big reveal was handled exceptionally well.


Overall, a incredibly strong start to a new YA Fantasy series that fans of Elizabeth Lim are going to love. Also, I need to get ahold of ‘A Venom Dark and Sweet’ because the suspense of that ending is probably going to kill me!

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5.


About The Author



Judy I. Lin was born in Taiwan and immigrated to Canada with her family at a young age. She grew up with her nose in a book and loved to escape to imaginary worlds. She now works as an occupational therapist, and still spends her nights dreaming up imaginary worlds of her own. She lives on the Canadian prairies with her husband and daughter. A Magic Steeped in Poison is her debut novel.



 

A Magic Steeped In Poison


March 29th Melancholic Blithe – Interview The Bookish Coven – Review Gwendalyn’s Books – Review Heylittlesiren – Top 5 Reasons to Read A Magic Steeped in Poison & Favorite Quotes Books with Michelle – Top 5 Reasons to Read A Magic Steeped in Poison & Favorite Quotes


March 30th The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post Booklore – Review Confessions of a Reading Addict – Review & Playlist Artfully Bookish – Review The Written Journey – Favorite Quotes & Mood Board


March 31st Nine Bookish Lives – Interview dinipandareads – Review & Journal Spread Ruei’s Reading Corner – Review & Favorite Quotes paperbacktomes – Top 5 Reasons to Read A Magic Steeped in Poison & Mood Board


April 1st Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post Nikkie Reads – Review Inking & Thinking – Review, Playlist & Favorite Quotes Abby’s Coven – Review & Mood Board Books Over Everything – Review


April 2nd Stuck in the Stacks – Interview Fanna for Books – Review dragons & paperbacks – Review One Book More – Top 5 Reasons to Read A Magic Steeped in Poison & Favorite Quotes Betwixt The Sheets -Review


April 3rd The Bookish Context – Asian Drama Recommendations thisbellereadstoo – Review & Mood Board PopTheButterfly Reads – Review Ashes of a Book Dragon – Top 5 Reasons to Read A Magic Steeped in Poison I Dream in Books – Review

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page